Alex Bassett's picture

just found your site this week as I have been looking for a light weight replacement for freenas .

And I have found it :)  . Installed samba file server from an iso updated it and installed PS3 media server and it works out of the box.

THANKS

Forum: 
Liraz Siri's picture

Thanks for sharing your positive experience. I'm delighted you're finding TurnKey useful!
Alex Bassett's picture

I have now found that PS3 media server will not work well with my samsung tv so , using tkl core added ffmpeg , openjdk-6-jre-headless , serviio dlna server 0.5.2-linux.tar.gz ,and finally added samba + samba webmin  . This runs well in proxmoxVe but some scripts need writing to start and stop the media server .

It would be nice for this to be made into an appliance if possible !

Ps: serviio console needs installing on different machine ,either linux ,windows or mac.

being a linux noob i'm still finding my way around scripting.

PPs: thanks jedmister for the link to proxmoxVe

Alex Bassett's picture

I have now converted using alien serviio 0.5.2-linux.tar.gz to serviio_0.5.2-2 all.deb .

It now installs in / serviio-0.5.2 and can be started by  bin/serviio.sh.

I would like to install it in the /usr folder instead and add users to tkl if anyone knows how this could be achieved as this would make start stop scripts easier to write i hope.

Jeremy Davis's picture

Then I strongly suggest you look at TKLPatch and make a patch to recreate your custom appliance. There is plenty of info in the docs and I'm happy to share what I know.