Eric (tssgery)'s picture

For those of you about to read this, let me preface it by saying a few things:

• I hope no-one takes offense to anything I say, I apologize in advance if that is not the case

• I am a fan of the work being done by TKL, I use several of the appliances for personal use and will continue to do so

• What I say here are personal opinions regarding what I consider to be the weaknesses of TKL as they exist today. There are, obviously, benefits as well but this post is focused on areas of opportunity.

Community

I've been using TKL for a few years now, 80% of the appliances I have deployed were/are on my personal vSphere instance. The remaining 20% are spread between physical hardware and non-VMware hypervisors. I have built a number of TKLpatches and distributed them here. I do consider myself a semi-active member of the community and I try to improve other users experiences. To that end, I consider the community (the forums) to be one of the best aspects of TKL. Jeremy, in particular, tries to respond to everything and should get kudos for doing so (though I do not think he is a TKL employee).

I don't see a lot of interaction from the 'core devs' here and think their absence is a large detriment to the community. I am sure they have other things to do but see many posts where their input/response would be welcome. I would very much welcome their participation here.

64-bit support