finga's picture

Hoi,

since several hours I try to create a Django project on a TurnKey Django installation. How can this be done? I am new to Django but i can't find any solution.

thx a lot

Forum: 
Liraz Siri's picture

You'll want to read through the Django documentation to get your bearings. As the appliance documentation states there's an example project at /var/www/django-sites/apps which you can try to learn from, but if you don't understand Django yet that may not be helpful.
finga's picture

Thx a lot, this helps very well. I've read many about Django these days so it wouldn't be hard to begin. :D

Alon Swartz's picture

You'll find the configuration in /etc/apache2/sites-available/django-sites.
Note that DJANGO_SETTINGS_MODULE is set to apps.settings.
Hope this helps.
John Draper's picture

I setup a new database,  I call it "tracker".  I setup a user called "django" to manage all my Django databases.  I setup "Database Permissions" to all.   

In my settings file,   I have...  

DATABASES = {

'default' : {

'ENGINE': 'django.db.backends.mysql',

'NAME': '/var/lib/mysql/tracker',

'USER': 'django',

'PASSWORD': 'passwd',

'HOST': '',

'PORT':'',

}

}

I verified that 'tracker' exists as a database,  but I didn't make any tables for it yet.   My first question,  do I have to create at least one table?    or when I type 'python manage.py syncdb',   I get the following...

/tracker# python manage.py syncdb
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "manage.py", line 10, in <module>
    execute_from_command_line(sys.argv)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/django/core/management/__init__.py", line 443, in execute_from_command_line
    utility.execute()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/django/core/management/__init__.py", line 382, in execute
    self.fetch_command(subcommand).run_from_argv(self.argv)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/django/core/management/base.py", line 196, in run_from_argv
    self.execute(*args, **options.__dict__)