Conrad Bate's picture

Hi there i'm very new to this appliance scene (i've only spent a few hours on it) but i'm not new to vmware (we use it at work heavily) however I am a programmer by "trade", and one who uses linux barely, (mostly Windows based) so there are a couple of questions I have. I appreciate these are probably covered elsewhere but my googling collided with lots of OT info and i'm not sure how to phrase myself right, so I find myself here. :-)

so if I ask it out "loud" perhaps people can link me and get me in the right direction.

Question 1) when I installed the joomla install on a Virtual Box on a Vista x64 box I followed this tutorial fine http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g-xXHD051eg (although since I'm running Virtual Box on Vista and the VM settings are different and or/ it's now December and that youtube is from June). Nevertheless it went fine EXCEPT when I putty to the VM i.p. address on SSH  (as I would want considering I am on Win platform) it doesn't prompt me for my root password (see screen shot) I assume this is a bug or a feature since I am logging in from the host machine? Either way how do I force the root password to be asked.

Question 2) How do you manage the networking on a VM. what I mean is, if I want to host a Virtual Box on an active webserver how do I do it? I'm not sure where to start on this one: normally a bare metal apache machine has a real I.P. that you DNS all your domains to (or it's router does, and you're pump the external port 80 traffic to it). Once you're at the bare metal it's at the apache vhosts level you then assign it to actual physical disk locations EG: c\:www\domain.com or something.