Andrew Johnson's picture

I need to download some Drupal modules into the Turnkey VM but am having problems.  If I try

apt-get install wget

I get an error "E: couldn't find package wget"

If I try apt-get update, I get lots of errors relating to resolving hostnames.  I tried entering IP addresses for archive.ubuntu.com into hosts file, but then apt-get update just sits on that address waiting at 0% (as well as failing to resolve other hosts).

I'm a real Linux newbie so struggling to make some headway on this.  Any help appreciated.  Would be useful if wget was part of the core, although I know that has been discussed before!

Thanks

Andrew

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Make sure networking is set up properly. An easy way to check network connectivity is ping google or similar from within the VM eg

ping www.google.com

If that is indeed the problem, I'm happy to help you sort it out, but please provide a little more info about your setup (eg host system, vm software, etc)

Andrew Johnson's picture

There's certainly a problem with the networking as I can't ping anything.  So I can get incoming network connections (I have Drupal installed) but don't seem able to get external connections.  Note that outside the VM, I have internet access.

System is the Turnkey Drupal VM, running on VMPlayer.  This is running on a Windows XP machine for what that's worth.  As it is a work laptop, the underyling network connection is running on a VPN.  Currently it is on my home network, VPN'd into work.  I can't even ping other machines on my home network.  I suspect its a configuration thing with the VPN as work tend to tie things down quite a lot.

Tomorrow morning I'll plug in directly at work and see if that makes a difference.

Regards

Andrew

Jeremy Davis's picture