J's picture

Hi,

I used the LAPP install for AMI and created an EBS in the configuration.  After reviewing the instance on Amazon it does not show EBS as root device, it shows instance-store.  Is there special configuration needed to make this feature work?

When I run this command from putty, it does not find the directory

ebsmount-manual --format=ext3 /dev/sdf

If I go into my AWS management console and attach the volume to the instance and then run the upper command I get

/dev/sdf is entire device, not just one partition!
Proceed anyway? (y,n) y
/dev/sdf: mounted /dev/sdf /media/ebs/vbd-2128/d396

I am new to the command line and unsure of the next step.

if I CD /dev/sdf /media/ebs/vbd-2128/d396

It states

dev# cd sdf
-bash: cd: sdf: Not a directory

Would love to move forward with TKL and learn more about ideal architectures for elastic scaling and aws as well.

Thanks for the innovative service,  Mazel tov!

Thanks,

-J

Forum: 
Alon Swartz's picture

First, sorry for the late reply, we are reaching the end of a development cycle and things are hectic.

Amazon support two types of images, instance-store-backed (root partition stored on s3) and EBS-backed (root partition stored on an EBS volume), each with their own pro's and con's. TurnKey AMI's are of type instance-store-backed.

In a nutshell, what this means is that the instance is not persistent - any data / changes will be lost when the instance is terminated. This is where EBS volumes (as well as our upcoming backup and migration mechanism - TKLBAM) come into play. An EBS volume is basically an external harddrive which you can attach to your instance, and use it as persistent storage. When the instance is terminated, the data on the EBS volume is still available, and can be attached to a new instance.