I'm really interested in trying out Amazon Cloud hosting for a new LMS project. I saw Turnkey Moodle - this looks like it may be a very good solution.

• I'm wondering about the setup - is it just straight Moodle source code or modified?
  • Is this using MySQL? Will that scale on Amazon - even if it grows to say 10,000 simultaneous users?
  • How would I have to set it up on Amazon to handle this kind of scale? Would I need to switch out the db to something else?

Hope you can help me understand this a little better - I am new to AWS and to Turnkey's appliances so it would be great to get some feedback. Thanks!

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

But the current TKL Moodle appliance (v11.1) should be fine.

It uses the current upstream stable Moodle v2.0 without any modifications (although it is possible that it may include some non-standard plugins - not sure on that one though, TBH I don't even know what, if any plugins are available).

The appliance uses MySQL as the backend database. You may wish to make some tweaks to get the best performance out of it, especially if you have 10,000 users. Regardless the default MySQL should handle this fine.

Liraz Siri's picture

TurnKey Moodle uses the unmodified upstream source. Regarding scalability, you can get quite a bit out of mileage on a single instance, even a small one, but how far really depends on the specifics of your usage scenario. The best way to find out is to test the performance using web benchmarking tools that simulate users.

Also, we'll be introducing support for larger instance sizes soon so when you need to grow out of the small instance you'll be able to do that.

But 10,000 users all active at the same time is a crazy load. If those 10,000 users are active for an average of 5 minute sessions across the day that is roughly equivalent to 3 million active sessions per day and about 50-100 million visits a month.