Eka Januard's picture

i'm a newbie, specially in linux world and server, Thx God i've met turnkey ... please help me on 2 problems:

1. I was greatly assisted by the simplicity of turnkey when i build moodle for my college, but when i add and configuring samba manually, i found trouble, sometimes the ip private (local ip) for samba goes down (rto) and sometimes the ip public dns for moodle goes down too, i already try using 1 ethernet (using 2 ip by alias) and 2 ethernet, even changing the new server (using dessktop computer), new installation and new ethernet card but the problem still often happen. the problem can be solved by restarting the server or ping google / gateway manually by using keyboard :( i've turn off all the sleep setting and the problem still exist .... :(( any clue to solve it ?

2. I really need to combine moodle appliance, samba (file server and domain controller appliance) , otrs - trouble ticket system appliance, and finally wordpress appliance in 1 server ^o^ any hint how i can combine all of them in 1 server ??? :D

note: first time i'm using old Compaq Server with AMD Opteron 1,6Ghz, RAM 1gb, now i'm using Acer Aspire M1800 (desktop) with Intel Dual Core E5300 2,6Ghz, RAM 2gb

thanx a lot

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Looks like your post slipped through the cracks so sorry about that.

1. That's a new one to me. I have never experienced that sort of problem with TKL before. I would suggest setting a static IP via the confconsole and cross your fingers. Otherwise double check all networking etc, still it seems strange that a reboot fixes it... Not sure...
  2. Two ways to go here:
    1. Single multi-function server appliance. Use one of the appliances - probably the most complex and difficult one to configure and then manully install the other apps yourself on top.