SimonH's picture
Hi all, I'm fairly new to Drupal and especially new to TKL, but I'm having the best time so far, its just awesome!! A little history. - Created Drupal6 instance on TKL tied to my Amazon EC2 account. No problems there. - Created Amazon Route53 hostedzone, which gave me my DNS settings for my domain name. No problems there. - Repointed DNS via my domain name manager, few hours later, my domain name was pointing at my TKL Drupal instance. No problems there. Its dawned on my that any email to my email@mydomain.com is probably going nowhere at all. Which I''m ok with for the moment, as its not really used at all. My question is and this maybe more of a DNS question than a TKL question (apologies if that's the case, but everyone here on the forums seem to know everything about everything). Is there anyway that I can do some domain name magic (MX records or something) so that I can access email from somewhere in my account? Even if its a forward Im a little perplexed and dont really know enough of where to start looking. Appreciate any help that can be offered. Cheers SimonH
Forum: 
Liraz Siri's picture

Mail forwarding doesn't happen at the DNS level, it happens at the mail server level. You use the MX record to point to a mail server, which is then configured to accept mail and do useful stuff with it (e.g., forward it somewhere, deliver it to an IMAP mailbox, etc.). You can run your own e-mail server by setting up Postfix on the appliance and then configuring it (there's a nice Webmin module BTW) for example to forward your mail somewhere. Or you can sign up for a third party mail service (e.g., Google Apps) and point your MX record to their servers. Hope this helps!

SimonH's picture

Got it, thanks Liraz!

Id thought about Google Apps, but would prefer to get Postfix forwarding somewhere, like just to my ordinary gmail account if thats possible.