Nikos's picture

Hi all

I have a joomla application running in an amazon ec2 small container. This reports that my main filesystem has been allocated 10GB of size. This has been increasing gradulaly even though I have been gzip and deleting old log files. I am now at 96%!

Webmin is not operating correctly due to this and I am not able to log into the backend of my joomla application.

Checking the details from Amazon I noticed that the EC2 small instace is suppost to have 160GB of space but I only have 10GB allocated to my main filesystem partition. Is there any way to extend my primary partition in order to utilize the other 140GB of space?

any help would be greatly appreciated as I have a live site in that container

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Please note I'm not that experienced with AWS and so it's possible that some of what I say here is not a good idea for some reason (although it all seems ok to me...). If someone knows better please post and let me (us) know! Thanks.

Anyway I just launched a server to see what is going on and it seems that there are 3 partitions by default; sda1, sda2 and sda3. Here's what the fdisk of mine looks like:

# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda1: 10.7 GB, 10737418240 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1305 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Disk /dev/sda1 doesn't contain a valid partition table

Disk /dev/sda2: 160.1 GB, 160104972288 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19464 cylinders

Disk /dev/sda2 doesn't contain a valid partition table

Disk /dev/sda3: 939 MB, 939524096 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 114 cylinders

Disk /dev/sda3 doesn't contain a valid partition table

So it looks like sda1 is the 10GB you're talking about and sda3 is the swap. And the 160 sda2?!? I wonder...