Robin's picture

Hello,

In December I created two Turnkey instances to use as I work on developing a web application. Previously, I'd used bitnami micro instances on AWS and was taking advantage of the free tier. I much prefer the TKL environment. Before creating my turnkey instances, I studied all the TKL forum posts and other information about billing, and was reassured that I'd be able to continue using the free tier. I am enrolled in the "Hobby" plan at TKL right now.

Yesterday I got a notice from Amazon alerting me to a significant increase in my projected monthly billing, from $0.00 to over $70. Their response to my question was that only micro instances are eligible for the free tier. I thought I had set up micro instances but I see they are labelled as "small" on my console. I am confused about how my instances got to be "small" instead of  "micro".

I am willing to make pay for the "budget" plan at TKL but definitely cannot pay the usage charges assessed for small instances (which I don't need by any stretch of the imagination). If I switch my TKL pricing plan, will my instances be converted back to micro? Do you have any suggestions about what I can do to reverse the pending charges?

Thanks in advance for your reply.

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Hi Robin, sorry to hear you've been having some hassles with it all.

So to use AWS Free Tier you need to enable EBS backed instances. Micro instances (and therefore the Free Tier) are not available S3 backed. This leaves you wiith 2 options: Enable the Buget plan in the Hub (ie EBS backed volumes - $20/mth charge) or invite a friend which will give you free access to EBS backed Micro instances. (PS these links only work when logged in to the Hub).