Jonas's picture

The Basics:

I am running VirtualBox within a Kubuntu 12.04 host system on top of an intel core i7-2600k with 16GB of RAM. I am a student and am using Turnkey Appliances basically for development, testing, and general putzing purposes. I was able to successfully setup a DNS server install on Turnkey Core, as well as a LAMP Appliance from another machine. As this is all done on my local machine, and (currently) the only traffic on the appliances are what I am creating over my "host-only" network, I would expect that I can run these machines with relatively sparse resources and still have reasonable response times. 

The Problem:

Thus far I've been able to initially setup the machines with little to no issues. However, it seems as I repeatedly shutdown and restart the machines over time, they get more and more sluggish. It is to the point now where the LAMP appliance takes several minutes to boot, and once it finally does, I can't even arrow through the "Configuration Console" without severe lagging. Whats more is that the CPU's that I have asssigned to be used by the appliances seem to just constantly churn at 100%. The webmin access is excruciatingly slow, and can't seem to even get to a terminal prompt within reasonable time. 

My first thought was that perhaps enough resources werent being assigned to these appliances, so I upped the assigned RAM, and processor count. Not only was the performance improvement negligible, but all of the assigned processors still seem to continue to be churning at 100% (even though there are more of them). Even more odd to me is that my RAM utilization never seems to rise anywhere near what I have assigned for the machine.

I have tried RAM counts of anywhere between 512 MB to 8192 MB and CPU counts from 1 to 4 processors. I do have the virtualization flag enabled in the VirtualBox settings for the machine if that matters.

The Questions: