I am running a private website using a turnkey Joomla AMI. It is mostly used during the daytime business hours. No need for the instance to run 24/7. What is the easiest way to setup an automatic start and stop? I have looked at the "auto scaling" features within the EC2 docs. It looks pretty complicated with lots of code entry (which I am not familiar with). Is there any "easy" way to establish a schedule?

Thank you.

Forum: 
Alon Swartz's picture

There isn't an out of the box solution for this, but you could probably roll your own stop/start script using the Hubs API and cron - take a look at HubTools.

Thanks for your reply, Alon. I am pretty new to the Turnkey Hub and cloud hosting in general (hence why I signed up for the Turnkey solution :)).

Would the cron script originate from the Turnkey Hub that I use to manage my servers, or would it reside on the EC2 instance itself? I am thinking that once the instance is stopped, it could not bring itself back alive again by a cron job. So would the I use the Web Shell in the Turnkey hub to create the cron job?

Thanks,

Todd

Alon Swartz's picture

Sorry I wasn't clear about this before. You need to put the script (which will be executed by a cron job) on a computer/server that is preferably always online.

Let me explain:

• The script you would need to write can use HubTools or the Hub API directly to stop and start an instance, something like: myscript.py --instanceid=i-123456 --action=<stop|start>
  • The script would then be executed by 2 different cron jobs, one in the morning and one and night, which would pass a different --action (start in the morning, stop at night)
  • Now, the cronjobs and the script need to be on a computer with an internet connection, that is online when the cronjobs should run. This might be your home/office computer, or maybe even a micro instance on EC2 (which, if your in the AWS free tier would be free for 1 years worth of hours)