Joshua Rosaaen's picture

I am new to TurnKey Linux VM's and I love them...I have a problem with one of them currently and cannot seem to come up with an answer...so I willposit the scenario as best I can in hopes of attaining a solution.

VM is the File Server found here: http://www.turnkeylinux.org/fileserver

I am the administrator of this system and I can remote into it with my browser and Filezilla and Putty with no limitations that I currently have experienced. I have a user that is trying to create a script that will populate the storage part of this server with data from a another Linux computer...RHEL 5.7. The method of connection to the SAMBA share he is trying to employ is a standard ftp connection...since this is a part of a script...he is telling me that there is a problem with creating this utilizing the sftp connection that works just fine for me a Windows user connecting with Filezilla...but is not working for him because of this secure part...can someone help me to figure out how to make it so he can script a connection to the file server utilizing standard ftp. I have created him a dedicated user account with its home directory the root of the SAMBA share...so he will not be able to climb higher than that in the system. Any help here would be most appreciated.

Thanks

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

SFTP is provided by the openssh-server package. It provides both SSH and SFTP (FTP over SSH). For vanilla FTP you will need another package to provide that such as vsftpd. The complication there is that vsftpd is already installed in the Fileserver appliance but is bound to local host (it provides the FTP component of the Fileserver WebUI - ie eXtplorer). If you don't use that you could quite easily reconfigure vsftpd to accept remote connections.