Bunk3m's picture

Hi.

I continue to learn the SugarCRM appliance.  I'm a bit confused about a few things.  Wondering if you can answer these.

1) This appliance is Debian Squeeze?

I am curious to confirm because the discussions in the forums are about updating vmware-tools for Ubuntu.  There is also links to vmware-tools ubuntu sources.  I think the appliance is running TK-12 which should be Debian Squeeze.  So ....

2) Is there a how-to somewhere to update vmware-tools for Debian Squeeze [TK-12]?  

I can find info about generic vmware-tools on debian and did follow those.  But it appears that there are some sort of 3rd party vmware tools installed. Those are removed by the vmware-tools install.  Then the update crashes on casper which I thought was something that runs on Ubuntu??? So I'm a bit confused at the moment as to how I should upgrade the tools.

Thanks in advance. 

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Hi there,

I have very little experience with VMware, I use PVE (OVZ & KVM) and at times VirtualBox but hopefully can at least head you in the right direction...

1) Yes the v12.x version of TKL appliances are based on Debian Squeeze. Previous versions were based on Ubuntu (v11.x on Lucid, previous versions on Hardy). Unfortunately you are right in that most of the documentation (informal documentation via forums, possibly even the more formal docs under 'help') relate to earlier versions which are likely not relevant to v12.x.

2) Surely there is. But unfortunately I have no idea... AFAIK the VMWare tools that are installed aren't the 'official' ones from VMware. My understanding is that they are open source ones to keep the TKL appliances completely open source - the 'official' ones are proprietry AFAIK.

You may get Casper errors (Casper does come from Ubuntu but it is related to running as a live CD) but in my experience you can ignore them. Although you say it actually crashes on Casper...?! I've never had that experience

Bunk3m's picture