Is this possible to do from within the appliance without upgrading the appliance itself? PrestaShop has a "1-Click" AutoUpgrade module and I haven't even done any customization to the site yet that might interfere, so it seems like a no-brainer.

The problem is that the upstream source for the appliance, even though it's dated June, is not the latest version of PrestaShop, which is dated April.

I'm using the bridged adapter, and I can connect fine for the TurnKey security updates, so I can't think of a reason I couldn't just update PrestaShop as I would on any host or local Apache server.

If I can download a new module to PrestaShop (which I'm assuming I can), I should be able to do this, too. I just wanted to ask before trying it because I'm new at this and don't want to mess up my pristine TurnKey VM.

Thanks,

Stephen

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Assuming you are, then why not take a snapshot and test it out!? I have never used Prestashop so I have no idea, but I would expect that it would be possible to upgrade Prestashop software itself as you suggest.

See how you go and if you have any issues post back and I'll do what I can to help out.

No need to wait for the appliance to be updated. Everything worked just as I assume it would have on a host. The snapshot feature makes it risk-free anyway, you're right. Better (and quicker) than a backup.

Right now it looks like any support issues I have won't be related to TurnKey Linux, but it's good to know that when I get a bit more involved, I have somewhere to turn.

I'm looking forward to hosting this thing on the Hub. Maybe then I'll have some better questions.

Stephen

Jeremy Davis's picture

Good to hear that all is going well for you!