Rick Kipfer's picture

My brain is down to 1 working cell. Please help.

I've been running Debian 6 for a couple of years, and want to upgrade to 7 so the baddies don't get me. I've seen posts that I can "backup with tklbam and restore on the new lamp" (well, slightly paraphrased).

So, I did a full backup with tklbam-backup, which worked fine. And I launced a new server from that backup from the hub, but of course, it launches the Turnkey Linux 12 (which is Debian 6, right?)

So I figured I would need to launch a brand new server from TKL that would be Debian 7 (I assume?) and then restore from the command line which would then restore the backup and be deemed a "migrated" server. Correct?

But of course, when I tried to launch a fresh LAMP appliance on a server, I get the message that my "amazon ec2 account is not enabled for turnkey linux" (or something close to that)... And I have no idea how to tell aws to accept the hub launch. (Which is strange, because I can 'launch from backup' just fine)... I have been paying for TKL for about 3 years now but have not actually used the hub for about 2 years, I have only been using the aws console and relying heavily on snapshots. I had no idea my TKL was somehow banished from AWS.

Can anyone help with this and/or point out errors in my thinking about how to migrate from Debian 6 to Debian 7? And if needed, how to get AWS to somehow respond to a new LAMP launch via some sort of API setup?

My poor, tattered, shredded brain thanks you.

Forum: 
Alon Swartz's picture

Hi Rick,

I just checked the Hub logs and I see that there was an "Auth Failure" when you attempted to launch the server. I also see that your keys were marked as invalid, and that you updated your keys, which should have worked in theory, but...