Greg Bosen's picture

I am new to turnkey hub.  It looks great.  However for this project I need to install PHPlist.  Turnkey version is way behind.  Bitnami has the current version but none of the other features of the hub. 

Questions are:

Should I install the old version use it even though it's major versions behind?

Should I install the old version and upgrade it and keep changes?

If I use the current PHPList VM how hard will it be to migrate the content to the new versions once you get the new VM appliances?

Greg

Forum: 
Tags: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Thanks for the feedback, both the positive and the (constructively) negative. :)

FWIW beyond what you see on the surface there are some significant differences between TurnKey and Bitnami. You may not be that interested but I can't help but use this opportunity to spruik TurnKey. I hope you'll forgive my indulgence! If you want to skip my rant, then please feel free to scroll down to "But to the crux of your question(s):" (in bold).

We've been around about the same period of time (us since 2008; them since 2007). We both package open source software in a "ready to use" package that includes dependencies/software stack. We both provide downloadable VMs and support launching direct to the cloud.

But that's pretty much where the similarities end. Perhaps to our detriment (in commercial business terms anyway) we have always focused on being open source and aimed to empower people by lowering the bar to access the immense amount of open source software out there. We always try to be as transparent as possible whilst using a business model that allows us to keep the lights on in a sustainable way.