Forum archive
Reserved Instance question (after cloning machine)
We reserved a Small machine but after a few weeks decided it wasn't powerful enough, so today I cloned that server and re-created it as a Medium machine. The Small machine is now powered off.
As I understand it, we will need to reserve the Medium machine since the new machine is of a different type than the one we previously reserved. And unless I make use of that Small machine in some other way, the money we initially paid to reserve it would go down the drain. Right?
Here's the documentation. I think the key phrase here being "in the reserved size" and region. We launched our Medium machine in the same region, it's just of a different size.
Through the Hub you reserve a server instance of a specific size in a specific region. Amazon bills you a non-refundable one-time fee. The Hub applies the discounted hourly rate immediately to any matching server. You'll see this reflected in the server dashboard.
Reserved instances only apply to the exact same server size and availability zone that the reservation was made for. The one-time upfront fee is unrefundable and non-transferable.
Just to clarify, this is an Amazon limitation, not TurnKey's.