Jeremy Davis's picture

I am currently working on a prototype TKL Lucid Client Core  TKLPatch and am seeking the preferred way to disable confconsole from autostarting (so it doesn't interfere with the GUI at boot).

For now I'm using

update-rc.d confconsole disable

to disable it and

update-rc.d confconsole enable

to re-enable it. It all works no problem. Well, actually for interest sake it does complain that

update-rc.d: warning: /etc/init.d/confconsole missing LSB information
update-rc.d: see <http://wiki.debian.org/LSBInitScripts>

But that's obviously non-critical as it doesn't seem to effect anything.

Despite the fact that it works nicely, as I'm a Linux newb I thought it may be best to see what others think, especially Liraz &/or Alon. Is there a better, or preferred way?

Ultimately it might be nice to include these commands in a script that disables x/enables confconsole and enables confconsole/disables x. Something easy to remember for useage scanarios where users wish to easily enable and disable the GUI.

Forum: 
Adrian Moya's picture

I missed your post about the TKL Client. Looks interesting, looking forward to see how it would work...

Liraz Siri's picture

According to the Debian Policy Manual which is a good source for information on how stuff is supposed to work in Debian/Ubuntu. Don't take it too literally though. It's for packagers, not system integrators.

BTW the only "evil" alternative would be to manipulate files in /etc/rc*.d/ manually which works for sysvinit scripts but I'm not sure if it would work for upstart stuff.

Now, anyone able to take the time to let me know how to get it to display before the system asks for login? Or should I do more homework?

Jeremy Davis's picture