John's picture

Is there a FAQ for formatting the text? :/ Refer to attached txt till i figure out this forum. [text now added as post]... OK.. there is a part of the forum without the formatting help... 

Hi, as i'm using your appliances since a while, i thought i should give you a big thanks for your work and a little patch i worked out for testing purposes.
The conf is kinda edgy but i'm still no programmer :>

So, what does it do?
Features:

• Latest Version of Icinga from Git
  • Nagios-Plugins 1.4.15
  • Idoutils (Mysql Backend)

This Patch is intended for the Core-Appliance. (Hardy & Lucid)

First, it sets the hostname to Icinga:

HOSTNAME=icinga
echo "$HOSTNAME" > /etc/hostname
sed -i "s|127.0.1.1 \(.*\)|127.0.1.1 $HOSTNAME|" /etc/hosts
hostname $HOSTNAME

In the Second step it does an apt-get update + install:

install apache2 mysql-server build-essential libgd2-xpm-dev libjpeg62 libjpeg62-dev libpng12-0 libpng12-dev libdbi0 libdbi0-dev libdbd-mysql git-core

Then it creates the Users and Groups that are required:

echo 'Creating Icinga-User and Groups'
/usr/sbin/useradd -m icinga
passwd icinga < /tmp/passwd
/usr/sbin/groupadd icinga-cmd
/usr/sbin/usermod -a -G icinga-cmd icinga
/usr/sbin/usermod -a -G icinga-cmd www-data

Then its about to get the sources:

echo 'Getting Sources'
cd /usr/src
git clone git://git.icinga.org/icinga-core.git
wget http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/nagiosplug/nagios-plugins-1.4.15.tar.gz
tar xzf nagios-plugins-1.4.15.tar.gz
cd icinga-core

Then it configures and compiles Icinga:

./configure --with-command-group=icinga-cmd --enable-idoutils --enable-ssl
make
make all
make cgis
make install-cgis
make install-html
make install-webconf
make fullinstall

Then it alters the configs so that ido2db works:

#ido2db Config
cd /usr/local/icinga/etc/
mv ido2db.cfg-sample ido2db.cfg
mv idomod.cfg-sample idomod.cfg
sed -i "s/use_ssl=0/use_ssl=1/" ido2db.cfg idomod.cfg