czimon.tracks's picture

Hello, 

I'm totally new to Turnkey Linux (or any distribution of Linux for that matter) so I really need the help here. :)

Anyway, I'm using Turnkey Linux LAMP and I'm trying to compile mod_xml2enc for Apache 2. Problem is, I keep getting the error below:

/usr/share/apr-1.0/build/libtool --silent --mode=compile --tag=disable-static i486-linux-gnu-gcc -prefer-pic -DLINUX=2 -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_LARGEFILE64_SOURCE -D_REENTRANT -I/usr/include/apr-1.0 -I/usr/include/openssl -I/usr/include/xmltok -pthread     -I/usr/include/apache2  -I/usr/include/apr-1.0   -I/usr/include/apr-1.0  -I/usr/lib/libxml2 -I.  -c -o mod_xml2enc.lo mod_xml2enc.c && touch mod_xml2enc.slo

/usr/share/apr-1.0/build/libtool: line 970: i486-linux-gnu-gcc: command not found

apxs:Error: Command failed with rc=65536

This appears after I run this command:
apxs2 -c -I/usr/lib/libxml2 -I. -i mod_xml2enc.c

At first I thought it was a problem with missing packages. So installed apache2-prefork-dev and apache2-threaded-dev. (I got this idea from searching multiple sources.)

I've been at it for almost the whole day now and I think I've exhausted the searching powers of google, so I'm really desperate. 

Anyone have any idea what's going on? I'd appeciate the help. 
Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

And sure enough I got the same error. But looking at the error message my first guess would be that as the libtool "command [is] not found" you are probably missing a dependancy.

I installed libtool (apt-get install libtool) and the error message changes. Now it is complaining that the file mod_xml2enc.c is not found. I'm assuming that you have that file so hopefully it will work for you. If not I found the source code on the Apache site here.

I ran out of time and so I haven't played further but hopefully that will get you over the line.

Good luck.

czimon.tracks's picture

Hey Jeremy, 

Thanks for the help. It did the trick! 

Jeremy Davis's picture