Keith Darby's picture

I download the file and tried to unzip but I cant find the install.

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

The ISO is a CD image. So if you like, you can burn it to a CD and install it to a PC (if you do a full clean install you may risk wiping the current contents of the hard drive).

The other (and probably bettter IMO) option is to install to a virtual environment such as Virtual Box. There is a tutorial in the TKL documentation here. The version of VBox is a little outdated and the TKL install is a little different now, but should be close enough to get you going.

Any issues don't hesitate to ask.

Keith Darby's picture

Thanks JedMeister ,  I'm really new at this. I program in php mysql .  I have a client that wants to run His website locally on his laptop at craft shows when thewre is no inernet conection so he can run an email signup program. The site runs php and postgres so this appliance is what he wants installed on the laptop.  I will load it on my desktop for testing and will load it on his machine when I know what to do. I looked at the VM installation and it looks straight forward. Adding this step won't wipe my hard drive??? How does VM run on the desktop? I aready burn the CD.

Keith Darby

KeVaCo.com

Jeremy Davis's picture

Then you can just use the ISO to install (rather than the CD). You can play around with it, get it all setup then instead of having to recreate the whole thing from scratch you can just export the VM from within VBox. Then on your clients PC install VBox and import the VM.

As long as you install to the virtual environment (VBox) there is no risk that you will lose any data (beyond usual day-to-day use that is).

The VM will run within a window but its probably easiest to minimise that window and just use the device via your host machine's web browser.

Keith Darby's picture

Thank You so much JedMeister for you patience.