Gil's picture

I am running release 2009.10-2 of the redmaine appliance on VmWare ESX, I would like to upgrade to the latest Turnkey 11 release but I'm not certain of the best method.  What is the recomended way to perform the upgrade.  I'm fairly new to these appliances so any advice from the community would be greatly appreciated.

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

TKLBAM (TKL Backup And Migration) is what you'll want. Have a look at the docs here. You could also have a look at all the posts discussing tklbam by clicking the tklbam forum tag (in the left margin). Any other queries that are not answered or if you need any clarification please post back.

Gil's picture

I've read everything I can find per your instructions and nothing specifically relates to upgrading version X of a TLK appliance to version Y of a TKL appliance.  I've found various articles on upgrading Redmine from one release to another, and I've done that successfully in a test environment but this I feel defeats the purpose of having everything packaged nice and neat in an appliance.  I've installed TKLBAM on my 10-2 instance of Redmine and backed it up to the turnkey hub quite easily but now what do I do to upgrade to 11?  Do I restore a new release on top of an old or vice versa?

I'm lost.

Liraz Siri's picture

You can use TKLBAM to migrate changed files, new packages and databases from one TurnKey system to another. TKLBAM doesn't know anything about the applications running inside your system and it doesn't transform your data in any way. This means you may still need to upgrade database schemas and such to be compatible with the new version, or not. It depends on the application's (e.g., Redmine) requirements.