lash's picture

Hello all,

I am new to linux and I was wondering how secure the TurnKey LAMP setup is.

Would it be secure out of the box or am I required to secure it myself?

Thank you

Forum: 
Liraz Siri's picture

TurnKey takes security very seriously. For example:

1) Only the minimum components required to satisfy an appliance's usage scenario are installed. That reduces the attack surface. In other words, there are less pieces of software to exploit.

2) Security updates are applied when you install the appliance and every day subsequently after that.

3) There's built-in support for firewalling.

4) SSL support is configured for web applications that need it, etc.

5) Daemons are bound to the localhost interface so that you can't access them from the network if they don't need to be accessed for the network for that usage scenario.

6) The developers come from a security background and are less likely than the average user to accidentally open up a security vulnerability via a configuration mistake.

So it definitely isn't vulnerable out of the box. But security isn't binary. It's not an on or off thing. New vulnerabilities are always being discovered. An attacker may exploit a vulnerability before a security update comes out. We may have made a mistake somewhere. Your passphrase may be guessed. Etc.

The main thing I would recommend you do if you are concerned about security is after everything is working, turn off all the services you don't use. For example, if you don't use Webmin or Webshell, turn them off. If you want to go the extra mile, uninstall all the software components you don't need. So if you only need PHP support in LAMP, remove the Perl and Python support. Test continually that you don't break the functionality you need. If you don't need to allow people to access a service from outside your LAN, limit access to that service through the firewall.