Rick's picture

Hello all and thank you very much for taking the time to have a look at my issue here.
Let me preface this post by saying that I am VERY new to the Linux world and this Joomla Appliance is my first real set of experiences with Linux and MySQL. I come from a MS totalitarian background and environment, but I am trying to learn as fast as possible. So please keep that in mind if you are kind enough to offer up suggestions for resolution. Feel free to skip down to the “What’s happening” and “My Goal” section if you are not interested in the back story.

My Situation/Back Story:
I have built a little Joomla site that is quite simple and only using a few extra plug-ins/modules, using the Turnkey Joomla 1.5 appliance on a Sun VRBox host running on WinXP SP3. This has been running AWESOME and with no problems that I couldn’t overcome.  However, before I could put a solid backup process in place (was in the process of reviewing how) I put the physical server in a enclosure and ran a thermostatically controlled external fan off the primary PROC fan’s leads, to vent the enclosure. When I did this, I did not realize the proc fan was not linearly controlled, and so from time to time when the exterior fan would kick on (100% no matter what) it would do something odd to the power supply and flat out bounce the host and naturally everything running on it including the SunVM/Joomla VMBox. Very surprisingly it booted right back up without a single problem (expecting a XP issue, not really worried too much about my Static Joomla Box) after which I quickly stopped write caching to stave off damage upon a reoccurrence. I did order a fan controller that day, however it ran on. Before my controller came, it did this quite a few more time, and finally, my Joomla Appliance VM dumped and now will no longer boot what so ever.

What’s Happening: