Krzysztof's picture

I've just run turnkey core drive on virtual machine. I get root@core:~# and prompt. How can I now run grphical mode? Commands X, startx, kde, gnome doesn't working. Is there such? How to run webmin? Sorry for such questions, but I'm quite new to this...

Forum: 
Krzysztof's picture

But there is something on screenshots? What should I download by apt-get? What about Webmin? What about other Turnkeys - e.g. Ruby on Rails. There I also can't run graphical mode.

The appliances I've used boot to a "usage" page that lists URLs and what's accessible via each URL. One of the URLs listed on the usage page of the core, for example, is an URL for Webmin. Access that URL by navigating to it with the browser on separate machine or virtual machine. The screenshots you've seen are probably produced by following the URLs on these initial pages.

Krzysztof's picture

Sory but I really don't get it :( Can anyone write step by step what should I do in any of this turnkeys to get graphic interface? (Is there KDE, Gnome, GTK or what?)

A quick look around google yielded this:

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

looks about right to me. My hope is that will install Gnome and all dependencies.

Krzysztof's picture

That command (sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop) returns: "E: Couldn't find package ubuntu-desktop". Am I in wrong directory? I should be connected with internet, because I can ping e.g. 209.85.135.147 (but I can't ping www.google.com).  When I run system I see in configuration console e.g. "Webmin https://192.168.1.16:12321". What to do with it?

Jeremy Davis's picture