Rick Kipfer's picture

Hi all. I am a newbie with linux (let me just say, without TKL I probably would have ended up going with Windows, gulp)... I only opened up my first console a few months ago, so although I've learned lots, my understanding of linux is only fledgling. I've developed a PHP application for a product we are rolling out, and some clarification on the following could REALLY help me sleep better at night :o)

Am I to assume that the LAMP components (Apache, PHP, Mysql) are receiving automatic updates by default but to upgrade any of these would require me to go in and actually do an upgrade? What I'm asking is, no components would actually upgrade to a newer version without me doing it, right?

My instincts totally tell me that an automatic upgrade to a newer version of ANYTHING would be like playing russian roulette with an application, but I could really use someone in the know to say "no, of course that would never happen, that would be just silly." :)

The thing that got me on this is the whole concept of depricated components in PHP. There's a firestorm of debate online as to why they'd discontinue some components in new versions if they work fine the way they are for some applications. (or simply a lot of work to change a lot of code for no new functionality)... I am not saying components should never be removed from libraries with new versions, but I need to know absolutely that upgrading to new versions will always be a result of my decision and action, not some automatic update that my LAMP stack is insidiously set to execute at some devastating point in my future.

Thanks all. I love TKL. 

Rick

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture