Emad Ram's picture

As a beginner, I'm going to build a good-looking video streaming website, but want the easiest way to build. I'm looking for a user-friendly CMS to create the main structure of my site. Please have a look at: http://www.threehosts.com/ratings/comparison-software/wordpress-vs-joomla-vs-drupal.html. As you can see they have provided a collection of websites created with WP, Drupal and Joomla. How can I understand if these websites are really built with the mentioned software? And how can I know if they have used any template for their sites or they have only used the standard features of software? Because some of these websites look really professional and due to I'm on a tight budget I don't want to pay for any template or theme.

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

TBH I don't think that there is an 100% foolproof way of knowing what CMS a website uses. I tested a few that I know what they are with http://whatcms.org/ and it seemed pretty good at detecting both WordPress and Drupal, but not so good at Joomla. Out of interest I also randomly tested some of the ones listed from the link you gave and it was pretty good at detecting WordPress but not so good at detecting the other 2 (claimed that no CMS was detected)... But as they state there is no foolproof way to check, unless you of course know for sure...

Regardless though, I personally I don't see any reason to doubt their claims about the example websites they suggest for each CMS. Maybe I'm just the trusting type but I see no reason why they would lie about it, there is no advantage to them and all 3 'major' CMS' would have a heaps of great looking sites online so it wouldn't be hard for them to legitimately compile such a list... Although I guess the info could be outdated? (I.e. some of them may have changed to another CMS since publishing that list).