Witzker's picture

Hi

I'm new with this server Things

I installed TurnKey Core Ova on ESXi 7

Then I did an Update in Webmin console

After reboot Webmin Service does not start any more!

What have I done Wrong?

How to Fix This?

Hope for help for a Newbie

THX

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

For what it's worth, I recently moved updated Webmin packages from our testing repo, to our main repo. However, the packages have been tested by a number of users and no one has noted any issues.

However, I tried to recreate the issue you have reported and indeed I could! I'm still looking into the full details, and trying to devise a workaround/fix for this issue.

On face value it appears likely that it is a bug/shortcoming of Webmin. It should be noted that Webmin doesn't doesn't actually provide an interactive shell of any sort. So the Webmin "upgrade" that I assume you used (System >> Software Packages >> Upgrade) can only successfully handle non-interactive upgrades. However, it is not uncommon for upgrades to require some sort of user interaction.

When I ran that upgrade via Webmin on my test system, it stalled at installing the updated Postfix package. It didn't even complete the Webmin package upgrades. That is because the Postfix install requires you to select the desired config before it can continue. I rebooted and indeed Webmin is not running. I assumed that that was because the Webmin package upgrades had not been properly run. I rebooted and tried to complete the package updates from the commandline (by running 'apt upgrade -y') and with the exception of the main Webmin package, all of the Webmin packages error.

After a little digging, it appears that what has happened is that the old main Webmin package was removed, but the new package was not installed completely (although apt thinks it was). This causes the other Webmin module packages to fail when installing. The solution is to reinstall Webmin (from the commandline). Do that like this: