d.b's picture

Hi all - 

I'm new to some of this this, trying to get a laptop built up w/ a working web site / CMS that I can take to client sites and do live demos of web sites being built. Running a laptop w/ Fedora 10 as host. Installed Turnkey drupal appliance. Going through some of the base configuration, and ran into what looks like is a database problem. I was going to make a copy of the database, and using the phpadmin interface I get an error when copying the 'users' table. It's complaining about a duplicate primary key. When this happened, I had indeed created a second user in the database, but it had a different uid from the 1st user (root), so I was not really able to tell what the problem was. . . . .. Rather than deleting that second user, I created a 2nd VM, this time w/ only one user, and I get the same error when I try and do a copy of the database.

I found a couple of recommendations, but wanted to post here and find out best solutions/approaches to this.

One recommendation involved using an add-in drupal module to do the copying rather than the phpadmin 'copy' a database option. I stumbled on this approach when I tried to add the 'guest additions' so that I could use a shared folder to get the module moved from the host to the guest.

Another recommendation approached it by using a different SQL query to 'insert' the copied records into the newly created database.  . something about the way the dump was auto generated had some extra lines in it that caused the final stages of the copy to fail.

Thanks in advance for the help. I like the idea of using a VM to host the web site, on the same physical box as the one I'm browsing from. I've been working on understanding this for a few days now, and I'm hoping to continue this learning process.

Thanks for the help . . . .

d.b      

Forum: 
d.b's picture

Thought I'd add a few more details. . .