Bill Carney's picture

My background is on Windows, but I want to learn Drupal on Linux, so I downloaded and played with the TKL Drupal VM.

On the Windows side if I want to duplicate a "template" Drupal configuration I have set up, all I have to do is:

Dump the database to a backup file.
Create new database and restore the template backup to it.
Duplicate my template website (ie D:\Sites\Template to D:\Sites\NewDomain.com).
Load up IIS and create a new site pointing to  NewDomain.com to D:\Sites\NewDomain.com.
Load D:\Sites\NewDomain.com\sites\default\settings.php and edit the $db_url line.

Easy peasy.

What is the process to do the same in TKL Drupal VM?

To test things out, I loaded up and configured the default Drupal site with a generic "First Test Site" name.

Then I downloaded the contents of /share/drupal6 to a temp folder my desktop
and /etc/drupal/6/sites to the temp folder my desktop

I created /var/www/domain1.com and copied the contents of my temp folder into it

In Webmin, Servers, Apache Web server, I created a new virtual host.  I selected /var/www/domain1.com as the document root, domain1.com as the server name, and Copy directives from changed to Automatic:80 /usr/share/drupal6/

Then in the virtual server I selected Domain1.com and 'Networking and Addresses" and added www.domain1.com as an Alternate virtual server name.

I applied the changes, and also Stopped and Started Apache.

Loaded up PHPMyAdmin, Exported the drupal6 database.
Created 'Domain1' database
Imported drupal6 backup into it.

Edited /var/www/domain1.com/sites/default/settings.php and dbconfig.php to use the root acct/password to access the domain1 database 

I'm able to view the default page on Domain1.com, but after attempting to log in it tries to go to http://www.domain1.com/node?destination=node and I get a Not Found error.  If I go to the IP address, the default site bombs out with the same error.  Basically, Drupal stops working.