Hendrick's picture

Hi , I am a newbie and need your help about the Amazon pricing which is very difficult to understand.

I intend to use the service as a hobby and test Vtiger application but the Amazon pricing is confusing.

Is it a flat monthly charge or is it charged by the hour when the server is on?

Let's say, I only use the server for for 5 hours during workdays. How much do I have to pay? Do I have to pay the hourly rate times 5 only? or do I have to pay the hourly rate times 24 hours times 30 days in a month regardless the number of hours used? do I have to pay anything else on top of that?

is there any way to pay based on the usage only?

Any help is appreciated!

Forum: 
Tags: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

You pay for the server when it's turned on and running, whether you are 'using' it or not (just like the lights! You don't get a discount when you are out of the room!!) Then if you are on the Hobby plan, then you pay 15% on top of that (to the TKL devs - but it all comes on the one Amazon bill).

So if you shut it down when you aren't using it then you won't be charged for the hours it's not running (only the hours and part thereof that the machine is actually ticking over).

Only thing is, when you turn S3 backed instances off (the only type allowed on the Hobby plan) you'll lose your data - so you'll need a backup (unless you want to redo everything, everytime). TKL provide a nice one called TKLBAM (~$0.14/GB - AWS charge, no extra to TKL devs) but I suggest testing your backups (in a new machine) before you kill the one you are about to turn off.