Dave Enyart's picture

I am not an expert when it comes to linux but am competent enought to follow directions.
I have been trying to update subversion to 1.8.10 and am having a rather difficult time of it.

I am using TKL 13.0 / Debian 7.8 Wheezy - (Revision Control) as a VM on ESXi

The easiest method of using webmin and going to software packages and searching for an update shows that i am at the most current version(subversion 1.6.17dfsg-4+deb7u9)  but the debian packages list 1.8.10 as the most current stable version.

I'm not sure how to update TKL to get this to show up.
I did try to download the .deb package but was unable to complete the install due to missing dependencies, this left my repositories unresponsive and websvn was not pleased with me.

Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.
Dave

Forum: 
Tags: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Probably where you are going a little wrong is that TurnKey v13.0 is no longer (as of about a month & a half ago) running on the latest stable version of Debian. v13.0 is based on Debian Wheezy which is now 'old-stable'.

As a non-Linux regular you may have missed the bit where versions of software are essentially frozen in a particular version of Debian. Security fixes are backported so as to keep the software secure; but otherwise it statys the same as it was the day that version of Debian was released...

Let's not get into the debate of why that's a good thing; but generally on a server it is (IMO anyway...). But there are obviously downsides too. I'm guessing that your need is probably fuelled by a feature in newer versions or the requirements of a 3rd party tool or something similar. Am I right?