Babak B's picture

Hi,

I hope someone can help me out. I'm stuck. I'm a noob on Linux.

I have installed moodle turnkey (latest version 2.9) and everything seams to work fine exept the plugin installations. I get write access failure. (This plugin is a theme from Moodle download Site)

Status: Error    Message: Write Acces Check    info: /var/www/moodle/theme  (see screen dump)

But I have checked the documentation and according to that it should work.

The File folder has the attribute 755. I gave that also to all folders and files in that folder. Still, I can't install the plugin. :(

Any suggetions how to solve this?

Best Regards

/Babak

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Thanks for the good info and screenshots. I'm almostr certain that this is a simple ownership issue. Try this:
chown -R www-data:www-data /var/www/moodle/theme
And then retry. Hopefully it should all just work.

Thanks tons for reporting though. I've added it as a bug. We're working on v14.1 at the moment so you've just helped make TurnKey better! Yay for you! :)

Babak B's picture

Hi Jeremy!

Thank you for your answer. I've installed the new version of Turnkey Moodle 14.1. And the installation of the themes works fine without any issue. But when I tried to install another plugin called 'Grid Format' which are used very often of course creators it failed. You can see the message dump.

What do you think?

I've been testing/ working with Moodle 2.9 and 3.0 and made installation with Softaculous on c-panel with different hosting companies without any problems. Installing plugins is no issue at all.

Jeremy Davis's picture

If you grant full ownership of the webroot (/var/www/moodle) then it will all work OOTB. But we prefer to come from the other direction and lock everything down as much as possible and unlock bits that need it. Obviously there are some tweaks that have to be made for usability (i.e. tweaking to support easy theme installation).