Bryan's picture

I have been running a mediawiki virtual machine for several years, largely without issue. Recently though it has started becomming non-responsive. By non-responsive I mean that:

1. Access to the wiki via its web address ceases
  2. Access to the wikis browser-accessed shell & webadmin ceases
  3. Even the window of the VM (in the host machine) stops responding - i.e. it won't shut down if I "send the shtdown signal" after clicking the 'x' on the machines window in the host.

I'm confident this isn't an issue with the host, as it is running 3 other turnkey virtual machines without issue. The last time I had an issue with this machine it was due to hard drive space; but less than 15% is currently in-use and running the solution to my last issue didn't help.

Oddly, after reforcing a reboot it'll run fine for 12-18 hours, and then become non-responsive again. 

Anyone know how to fix this issue?

Thanks

\

Bryan

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

When you say "Even the window of the VM (in the host machine) stops responding" does that mean that you can longer type within the VM terminal in the window either? I.e. is the machine totally locked up aka frozen?

TBH I haven't come across that before. Are the other TurnKey VMs the same version?

Have you checked the syslog on the server to see if there is anything strange logged around the time it becomes unresponsive? If you can still run commands within the VM terminal after this happens then it is highly likely the log will show what the error is (or at least give solid hints). If it's totally frozen then it is possible that there is nothing of interest there.

Also rebooting the host (assuming that it is running continuously) and running a fsck (or equivalent disk check) on both the host and the VM might be useful steps (and might help eliminate possible causes if nothing else).