Chuckak's picture

Deployed fileserver OVF file on VMware ESXi 6.5 host.

Added 2nd hard disk 1TB in VMware VM settings.

Booted fileserver and configured network all OK.

Attempted to create partition on 2nd scsi disk.

Tried Linux and NTFS both error out with invalid cylinder 0.

Tried Thin Provisioned and Thick Provisioned in VMware for the hard disk.

I am dead in the water as I am a Linux noob.

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Without properly knowing exactly what you have done so far and what the exact outcome of your steps were, it's hard to know what went wrong...

Also, by default, our OVF install uses LVM. We have a dated, but still relevant blog post on how to add additional space via adding a new volume to the LVM here.

If you'd rather not go that route and just want to manually add a new volume as an independent volume, then steps are something like this:

• add new vHDD in VMware
  • partition new volume (I use fdisk)
  • format partition with filesystem
  • mount filesystem
  • add new partition to /etc/fstab (so it auto mounts on reboot)
  • reboot and test it works as expected

Under the hood, TurnKey is Debian (v14.x = Debian Jessie) so any docs you find that are relevant to Debian, will be relevant to TurnKey. E.g. here is a fairly generic Debian/Ubuntu tutorial which looks like it should work ok (I haven't tested, but looks good on face value).

If you have no joy with any of that, please do not hesitate to post back, but please give a bit more specific info on what you tried and what response you got. Ideally use the commandline, then you can copy paste the full text of error messages etc.

• Chuckak's picture

I installed Fileserver as it has a GUI interface.  Since I can barely spell command line.  What is the point of the GUI then?