Alexandre Takacs's picture

Hello

Probably a newbie question... I have just deployed a Turnkey Appliance for Bookstack and it is woking nicely.

I however see in my SMTP relay server a number of - blocked - mail coming from root@myhostname where myhostname is the host name for the appliance.

I believe this is not Bookstack but something in the underlying LAMP stack. Any obvious places to check ?

Forum: 

Anyone ?

Jeremy Davis's picture

So you set up the SMTP relay via Confconsole? If so, does your SMTP relay give any further info? If they're showing up in your relay as blocked, then I'd assume that it's your relay that is blocking them?! You may need to explicitly allow them to send to you or depending on your SMTP relay, perhaps you need to send them from a specific address?

TBH, I'm no Postfix expert and I just leave mine be (and they come from "root@hostname" as you note but I'm fine with that as they're only system messages and I know where they come from because of the hostname). Third party apps such as Bookstack should have their own config to set the from address (they'll use Postfix, but only as an MTA - mail transfer agent).

If you want to set a default from address other than root@hostname though, that's possible. I'm not familiar with the config OTTOMH though, so I've had a quick google for you. To my eye, this Unix StackExchange post looks like it should get you over the line? Failing that there are some other answers to that same question which may give alternate paths?