ethanthekiwi's picture

I'm looking to upgrade a ProcessMaker appliance from Turnkey version 13 to 14.2. My two goals are to upgrade the OS and underlying stack for security and to upgrade from ProcessMaker version 2.8 to 3.2 for the features. From what I understand TKLBAM is the recommended way to backup then restore to a new install of Turnkey as you can't do an inplace OS upgrade. I've never used it before and I'm wondering how it would handle the ProcessMaker application side of the upgrade, there's a lot that happens in the application itself when you run an upgrade from 2.8 to 3.x. Does that get factored into the backup and restore?

Forum: 
ethanthekiwi's picture

So I went ahead and tried running TKLBAM. I cloned my VM server, ran a backup to a local data source. (No, I did not use AWS because I don't have an account with the space.)

tklbam-backup --address file:///backup_disk/tklbam/backup --force-profile=empty

Then I restored it to a ProcessMaker Turnkey version 14.2 VM with this:

tklbam-restore --address file:///backup_disk/tklbam/backup --keyfile=/backup_disk/tklbam/key

Both the backup and restore said they went fine. The login screen on ProcessMaker loaded, but when I logged in, I received this error. It kept going for a while so I just grabbed the top bit. I'm guessing TKLBAM isn't very application aware as far as ProcessMaker is concerned. I assume 'wf_58f83c4543eed'@'localhost' is a service user that was not brought over in the backup. Is there something I might have missed here or is TKLBAM not a good solution for what I am trying to do?

PropelException Object
(
    [cause:protected] => SQLException Object
        (
            [userInfo:protected] => wf_58f83c4543eed
            [nativeError:protected] => Access denied for user 'wf_58f83c4543eed'@'localhost' (using password: YES)