Takiyah Noble's picture

Hello,

Bear with me ... because I am a complete newbie to the point of it inducing pain! LOL! But, in all fairness, I am a quick learner.

Okay, so I want to install Wordpress on Amazon EC2, poking around the documentation and video tutorials, I gather that I am supposed to download a Virtual Box from virtualbox.org to make it work.

Here's where I am confused... am I supposed to download the VirtualBox for Linux hosts (hence the name Turnkey Linux) option to my personal computer although my operating system is Windows 7? Or am I supposed to click on the VirtualBox for Windows hosts because I am operating Windows?

If I am supposed to click on the VirtualBox for Linux hosts, then what option am I supposed to choose to download and run on my computer. Here's what the virtualbox page I am looking at says:

VirtualBox 4.1.2 for Linux

Note: The package architecture has to match the Linux kernel architecture, that is, if you are running a 64-bit kernel, install the appropriate AMD64 package (it does not matter if you have an Intel or an AMD CPU). Mixed installations (e.g. Debian/Lenny ships an AMD64 kernel with 32-bit packages) are not supported. To install VirtualBox anyway you need to setup a 64-bit chroot environment.

Please choose the appropriate package for your Linux distribution:

• Ubuntu 11.04 ("Natty Narwhal") i386 | AMD64
  • Ubuntu 10.10 ("Maverick Meerkat") i386 | AMD64
  • Ubuntu 10.04 LTS ("Lucid Lynx") i386 | AMD64
  • Ubuntu 8.04 LTS ("Hardy Heron") i386 | AMD64
  • Debian 6.0 ("Squeeze") i386 | AMD64
  • Debian 5.0 ("Lenny") i386 | AMD64
  • openSUSE 11.4 i386 | AMD64
  • openSUSE 11.3 i386 | AMD64
  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 (SLES11) i386 | AMD64
  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 10 (SLES10) i386 | AMD64
  • Fedora 15 ("Lovelock") i386 | AMD64
  • Fedora 14 ("Laughlin") i386 | AMD64
  • Mandriva 2010.0 / 2010.1 i386 | AMD64
  • Mandriva 2009.1 i386 | AMD64