Jeff Watkins's picture

I hope this is the right place to start?

I am new to turnkey..

I presently have a rackablesystems Intel sp5000pls with two dual xeon processors I think 5140s
8888 MegaRaid Lsi card that presently holds 6 terabytes in a raid 5 config....the software will be installed on a two terabyte sata drive locally sata 0......themega raid is expandable to 16 terabytes if i stay with
2 terabyte disks .. This Rackable systems is a real server not a desktop converted ...its a generation old .

very fast and is running very well

8 gig of ram at the present expandable to 32g  ... I have load centos 6.5 on this machine and I have also loaded Ubuntu as well just to play around with.....But now I am ready to find the setup I plan to use..

I want to be able to have a media server such as i have with my little qnap ts 410...I love the layout in the new software 4.1......and the phone apps are in theory awesome...but i am unable to have a website and it cannot process fast enough...also it doesnt seem to be able to handle my music collection which is approaching a terabyte...it takes a week to process just thumbnails for albums and trying to assemble it in a phone app ..it just doesnt do well....

So hence this is why I bought the rackable used system which I have put back running..
it can handle anything i throw at it...

Also this will give us all a chance to see statistics and other interesting facts about the performance

turnkey will have on this machine a real tried and true RackableSystem...

So this is where I need help..

how do i start? which instalation do i choose and then what packages do i install to make her lean and mean..

I think i have made the right iso and in the process of trying her out..

any help would be appreciated I am completly new to Turnkey

But i have already turned the key..Lol Hahahahaha

Jeff

Forum: 
Tags: 
Jeff Watkins's picture

Ok my first attempt at installing from is failed ..there was an error loading grub..