deutrino's picture

Did a bit of flailing trying to get a LAMP image to build with PHP 8.1 from Sury out of the box. It's now building but I haven't yet tested anything out.

Currently in the 'lamp8' branch in a repo I forked on Github.

https://github.com/deutrino/turnkey-lamp8/tree/lamp8

I would appreciate comments on how I chose to implement the changes in plan, conf, etc as this is my first time messing with TKLDev in any depth in quite a while.

Forum: 
deutrino's picture

I'm using the wiki as an issue tracker: https://github.com/turnkeylinux/tracker/wiki/LAMP8

First build, set up to install PHP 8.1:

• Adminer works
  • connection reset sometimes in Webmin?
  • Webmin php.ini tool doesn't see 8.1
  • phpinfo() sees 7.4, which makes sense because I didn't touch Apache configs yet

I'm pretty sure I left things undone re: the Makefiles as well, I haven't touched them yet. I'm still unsure how exactly it all goes together to build the image in the end.

Jeremy Davis's picture

Wow, nice work, although sorry to say that as per my message on your other thread, much of the functionality it exists already.

Regardless, good on you for jumping in. Sorry that I wasn't a bit quicker and could have likely saved you some time. I think that a vanilla LAMP with newer PHP is a great idea, although as well as the default, not instead of IMO. That's because of the automated Debian sec updates, if you can use Debian default version, it's lower maintenance. Obviously that's not always an option though.