magnusfs's picture

Ok...firstly, I am really a beginner. I do not even know what this really is, but if someone can help me with 2 questions I will be really happy. 

I was searching for a tool that could help me to in an easy and userfriendly way edit and make accessible a quality handbook for our family company. I have understood that MediaWiki could be a good solution for this, so I tried to download the turnkey-mediawiki download. 

Question number 1: am I right when I think that this tool can be used for the purpose described? 

Question number 2: when I download the file and instill the thing a program called Roxio Creator Basic opens...to be honest I have no clue what to do from here! 

If someone can give a clue about these questions I will be very happy :)

Best

Magnus 

Forum: 
Alon Swartz's picture

Yes, a wiki is what you are looking for: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wiki

TurnKey appliances are provided as ISO images which can be installed on real hardware or in a virtual machine. I assume you are running windows and double clicking the ISO, which is launching your CD burning application (Roxio).

You can either burn the ISO to a CD and use it to install on real hardware, or install in a VM (take a look at the appliance virtual machine installation video and documentation).

Hope this helps.

Jeremy Davis's picture

Hi,

1) Yes a wiki is a good tool to use to develop a handbook. It allows all users to edit it but chnages can be undone, so nothing is ever lost (unless deleted by an admin). Wikipedia is based on the mediawiki, so if thats the sort of thing you're after then it'll work well.

Out of interest, OpenOffice has a plugin so you can convert documents to wiki formatting so you can upload any existing docs you have without having to do extensive editing.