Conor Fox's picture

For a few monthes I've been using a VM based on the Turnkey PostgresQL appliance.  I've made a bunch of mods (package installs, conf file changes etc)

Now I'd like to create an ISO that others can use to install my modified appliance.  I'm trying to do so using the tklpatch scripts, which I chose for a couple of reasons:

-- I'd like to be able to create patches in the future

-- I'm new to the process of creating ISOs, and to related topics like chroot and mksquashfs.  Tklpatch  seems like a nice way to see how these steps fit together.

The only trouble is that the tklpatch workflow seems to assume that you start with an ISO and end up with a modified ISO.

By contrast, I want to simply:

(1) Mount the filesystem from my appliance on some other machine (a Turnkey core VM)

(2) On that VM, use tklpatch-prepare-cdroot and tklpatch-geniso to create an ISO from the mounted appliance

However step (2) relies on the original ISO to prepare the cdroot.  Is there a way to avoid the need for an original ISO (eg by creating the squahed FS by hand?).  Or should I instead start with some Turnkey ISO, and uses its squashed FS in combination with the rootfs from my appliance?

Forum: 
Conor Fox's picture

I think I've just about solved this problem.  I started by following my own suggestion of starting with "some Turnkey ISO" and using it to bootstrap the rest of the workflow.  This worked I think (I haven't yet tested the resulting ISO) but with hindsight it seems to me to be pretty easy to create the cdroot structure without needing a bootstrap ISO. Will try this tomorrow and post again.

Btw thanks for TKL guys, its great!

Conor Fox's picture

I feel a little stupid now. 

tklpatch-prepare-cdroot only requires an empty cdroot directory (and a rootfs).  Theres no need for any "bootstrap ISO" or any such nonsense.

What confused me was the fact that tklpatch-extract-iso creates a cdroot and copies a file to it.