Mike's picture

Hey, so far have the Turnkey Fileserver up & running fine on an old 120 GBs IDE drive.  Now, I want to add a 1 TB drive (SATA) to store the data exclusively, with the option of running other drives at a later date for RAID backup.  I installed a VANTEC 6-port SATA II 150 PCI Host Card w/RAID (model UGT-ST310R) so I can add the 1 TB drive, but I am unable to "see" the drive via webmin (although as a relative Linux newbie I may be missing things).  Also, is there a way to ensure that I keep all the file server data on the 1 TB drive (so I can keep it insulated from the drive running the File Server) or is this just a remnant of old Windows OS thinking and stupid.

I am aware that the PCI RAID card is probably a software card and Windows drivers dependent (as per a previous post here), but short of installing mdmadmin for Linux software RAID, can't I just use the drive as a single entity before I delve into the world of RAID?  Or am I going about this all wrong.

Thanks in advance,

Mike Afflerbach

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

But to use your SATA HDD as a filestore should be pretty easy. It may be possible with Webmin but personally I'd just use the commandline. There are a couple of ways to go but the easiest IMO would be to just mount your new HDD as the filestore (/srv). I can't remember the commands OTTOMH but google should help you out there. Just remember that TKL v11.x is based on Ubuntu 10.04/Lucid Server. I haven't tested this process but it should work. If you have data already on there and/or config you don't want to lose make sure you do a backup first - just in case (should be fine but it pays to be careful when you are working on the filesystem).