stackerman's picture

I have been running a TKRedmine instance internally for some time in a DMZ area.  We now want to access it off the DMZ but I can't seem to get it to answer a request to the NAT (external) address.  

I'm no VHost expert and certainly am barely familiar with teh Debian "sites-enabled' and sites-available files. 

How do I get this to answer on multiple IP addresses (local IP and an external IP request...?)

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Is it default Redmine or have the virtual hosts been adjusted? I assume that they must have been adjusted as by default they should be able to be contacted by via IP or hostname/FQDN (assuming that the IP and/or hostname point to your Redmine server...). AFAIK in default appliance wildcards are used so that the server will respond to anything that you call it (like I say, assuming that the FQDN or IP are relevant).

If your server has been configured to use a specific hostname/FQDN and you have a local DNS possibly the easiest thing to do would be to add a new DNS entry...

Regardless you'll probably need to see how it's configured ATM. So have a look what sites are enabled:

ls /etc/apache2/sites-enabled

Then look at the relevant site(s) to see what ServerName (if any) they are looking out for and what IP they are expecting you to use (if any). I give the example of looking at the Redmine Apache 'site' (which it should be by default, although YMMV). Look at any sites that are enabled...

cat /etc/apache2/sites-available/redmine

By default they'll use wildcards instead of an IP or hostname. You could try changing the IP/servername directive in any of the sites (edit the corresponding files in /etc/apache2/sites-available). Hopefully replacing whatever is in there with an asterisk (wildcard - i.e. '*').

Before you change anything I recommend you create backups of any site files so worst case scenario you can go back to scratch...