smalltownanimal's picture

Hi there - bit of a novice here, so forgive me.  Really pleased with the easy of installation and I was soon up and running, messing around with themes and whatnot but the disk usage was soon at 100% and everything fell over. 

Could anybody point me in the right direction to stop this occurring?  I suspect it's a slightly overactive backup? 

Cheers! 

Forum: 
Tags: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

That should generally not be happening. What size storage do you have? Where are you running this server? Cloud, local VM, etc? And I assume that you are using v14.0?

In the meantime it might be useful for you to try to see what it is that is filling up your filesystem. If it has even a tiny bit of room then you could install ncdu

apt-get update && apt-get install ncdu
Then run it on / to see what is using all your space:
ndcu /
Otherwise you could try using du (doesn't have as nice an interface and isn't as useful IMO, but should still help; also it should already be installed). I recommend that you limit it to only show files over a certain filesisze; e.g. 20MB:
du -h -t 20M /
Keyturns's picture

Hello,

I am testing with the TurnKey 64bit AMI Wordpress 14.1 in AWS (got it from the AWS Marketplace https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/B01KVG64FM and did not do it via your Hub, I'll test that next) and I wanted to install and run the 'ncdu' command you noted here (this is an old post but relevant to what I'd like to do I think). I ran those commands as sudo like so:

sudo apt-get update

and then

sudo apt-get install ncdu

and it installed OK. I next entered the command:

sudo ndcu /

but I got a "command not found" error. I did a "sudo -i" to get to root and ran it again but also got a command not found.  I had to find it and full path it to get it to work like so:

sudo /usr/bin/ndcu /

This was odd since /usr/bin is in my PATH ("echo $PATH" shows: "/usr/lib/git-core:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin")