ethanthekiwi's picture

I downloaded and installed Turnkey Canvas (version 14.1) using an OVA. I'm working on Microsoft SSO and I think if I update, it will work better (https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-8403#jive_content_id_Authentica...). The only upgrade instructions I could find were on Git (https://github.com/instructure/canvas-lms/wiki/Upgrading) and they might be a bit beyond my Linux knowledge.

First question, is their an easier way to upgrade Canvas itself (not the OS or the rest of the stack)?

If this is the only way to upgrade, they mention getting files from Git. I've never worked with Git before, but should I pull files from https://github.com/instructure/canvas-lms/ or https://github.com/turnkeylinux-apps/canvas ?

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

Unfortunately, while it looks lovely and many people swear by it; under the hood Canvas is an incredibly complex beast. Probably about a quarter of our appliance maintenance budget is chewed up by Canvas alone!

And yes, AFAIK they are the correct upgrade instructions. However, please note that they were last updated 21 Dec 2014 so may not be 100% relevant (but as good a place to start as any). I suggest that you also consult the install instructions as well as there may be new/updated dependencies (in fact there are, I can see it now requires Ruby 2.3). I suggest you start reading here.

My first general piece of advice would be to start a fresh VM. DO NOT work on your production server as the chances of something breaking are quite high. Especially as you are not particularly experienced with Linux and upgrading source code. You could just start with an empty VM, although I recommend that you migrate your existing data (assuming you have data) to the new VM so it's an (almost) real world situation. TKLBAM will come in handy for migrating your data in. Please note that your backup will include the version of Canvas, so don't upgrade and then migrate your data in.