Farmer20's picture

I'm posting my fix for others to see in case this affects them too.  Note:  I'm a Linux noob and thus I had trouble with this far too long last night.  (My 1st post here.)

Appliance:  Turnkey Linux Wordpress

Problem:  couldn't send email using the built-in Postfix server.  (I used a free account with the built-in "SendInBlue" service).

mail.log contained this phrase:  "SASL authentication failure: No worthy mechs found"

Issue:  libsasl2-modules was either missing or out of date in the appliance.

Solution:  at a Webmin command shell, I issued: 

apt install libsasl2-modules

A pile of things installed.  And then email worked.

Maybe someone can look into it. 

I downloaded the appliance ISO about 3 days ago. I'm running it in a Hyper-V VM if that's a factor (likely not).  And during the install, I ran the default updater for everything.   And so this could be a current issue.

====

Credit goes to:

https://www.spamhero.com/support/125410/Set_Up_Postfix_to_Relay_Outbound_Messages_Through_SpamH

Specifically, the comment in the link was:

"If you see warnings such as "warning: SASL authentication failure: No worthy mechs found," or "SASL authentication failed; cannot authenticate to server ... no mechanism available," then you may need to install additional packages.

For CentOS, you may need to install cyprus-sasl and cyprus-sasl-plain (you may also need cyrus-sasl-lib, but our test on CentOS 7 didn't seem to require that package).  On other systems, you may need libsasl2-modules.

"

There were other sites mentioning that libsasl2-modules could be the cause but this site suggested an answer that I could understand and so I tried it.

For reference, here is a more complete set of messages in the mail.log:

Apr 20 13:50:40 Wordpress1 postfix/smtp[10080]: warning: SASL authentication failure: No worthy mechs found