mbowman's picture

I'm new to this arena and have some basic questions -sorry if way simple:

1. Site is up and running, although I am unable to create new directories in Media Manager (with super admin rights).

2. Ultimately, site uploads (such as images) are also failing.

3. Where do I create an FTP user account?  I used the super admin account and it fails to connect to port.

Any help is much appreciated!  Thanks!

Forum: 
Jeremy Davis's picture

I suspect you may be having the same problem I did initially. To get uploads working and create new directories through a server app (such as media manager) you will need to give the web server ownership of the parent directory. Apache (Web server) should be running under the www-data user account, so either chown the folder locally (using a terminal) or you can change permissions from within Webmin using the "info" window (accessed in the File Manager). Also have a look at this topic: http://www.turnkeylinux.org/forum/support/20090529/lamp-tring-use-web-pa... . The appliance is different but the theory should be the same.

Hope that helps!
mbowman's picture

Once I was able to locate the default joomla directory in Webmin > File manager and set permissions, all is well. Full 777 config was not required. For anyone else using this vmware appliance looking for a quick fix, set permissions to 755 (for "this folder and all files/all folders") for the following parent directory: /usr/share/joomla15. I'm sure not all sub-directories/files require 755, although this is instant gratification!
Alon Swartz's picture

There were permission issues reported a couple of releases back, but we thought we had fixed them (no complaints until now).

What version are you using?
mbowman's picture